Board of Directors

The Waimea Water Ltd Board is committed to a high standard of corporate governance and regulatory compliance in guiding and monitoring WWL’s activities.

The Board will carry out its accounting, reporting, risk management and decision-making responsibilities in accordance with legislation and the directors will comply with their obligations under the Companies Act 1993, the Local Government Act 2002 and other relevant legislation. Board performance will be evaluated on an annual basis.

Directors are appointed for a period of four years. It has seven highly experienced directors appointed by shareholders and Iwi: TDC (4); WIL (2); Ngāti Koata (1).


Karen Jordan


Karen Jordan brings over 20 years experience in the UK energy sector working in a range of senior roles in organisations such as the UK Ministry of Defence and National Grid Plc. Prior to arriving in New Zealand in late 2015 Karen held a number of non-executive Director roles in the UK public sector including the Cabinet Office, Treasury, Rural Payments Board and the Department of Environment, Food & Rural Affairs.   Since arriving Karen has been appointed to directorships with the City Rail Link Ltd and the New Zealand Defence Force Risk & Assurance Committee.  Karen sees this role aligned to her background where she has been involved in major capital project delivery in both the private and public sector, including construction of the Auckland’s underground railway, major UK utility construction programmes and defence force projects.


Doug Hattersley


Doug has over 45 years engineering and project management experience on large infrastructure projects in USA, New Zealand, Africa, South America, Asia  and Australia. He is currently a consultant to renewable energy and infrastructure companies on technical and contractual issues related to design and construction.

He was previously General Manager Engineering Services for Pacific Hydro, an Australian based renewable energy company, responsible for global engineering services including design, construction, contract methodology, programming, risk management and quality assurance of three power projects in Chile that involved dams, tunnels, and associated infrastructure.

Doug holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Civil) degree, is a Chartered Professional Engineer, and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Julian Raine

Director (Waimea Irrigators Ltd)

Julian’s background is in agriculture and horticulture with thirty-five plus years experience. He is actively involved in a wide range of businesses regionally and nationally. This has been at both a management and a governance level. These companies are generally export focused in food production, processing and marketing. His family operation has a range of activities from horticulture to agriculture.

Over the years he has taken a keen interest in science and the environment. He has served as a director and deputy Chair on Landcare Research (NZ Government owned CRI) for 6 years plus a further 5 years as Chairman of Sirtrack, Landcare’s largest subsidiary. The science theme continued as he served as a Director for over 10 years on the Cawthron Institute board.

He is the chairman and a foundering shareholder in Wai-West Horticulture. This business grows fruit on 240 ha of orchards on the Waimea Plains. It has additional investments in post harvest operations covering packing, processing, cool storage and exporting.

Julian has been involved with water on the Waimea Plains for over 20 years. During this time he has served on both the Waimea Water Augmentation Committee and the Waimea Community Dam. He is currently a director and shareholder of Waimea Irrigators Ltd. His background knowledge in this project is extensive.


Bruno Simpson

Director (Waimea Irrigators Ltd)

Bruno is the Director – Sales, Finance and Administration at Waimea Group. Waimea Nurseries is large water user in the Tasman region with 240ha of land under management. Waimea grows and supplies fruit trees nationwide to the commercial and retail sectors. Bruno is Chairman of the International New Varieties Network, a US based company with interests in Intellectual Property management and development in fruit crops around the world.

Bruno has been actively involved in Waimea Irrigators (WIL) and is also a director of Century Water Ltd, the other major shareholder of Waimea Irrigators, an investor group that has provided $11m of funding for WIL.


Ken Smales


Ken Smales brings to the Board nearly 50 years of extensive engineering experience and knowledge in all aspects of dams including design, consenting, construction, operation, safety, hydro power generation and irrigation. Coming from five years involvement with the Central Plains Irrigation Project in Canterbury worth $450 million, Ken has also been the deputy chairman of DamWatch for 10 years and a director of Southern Generation Australia and their subsidiary companies of Meridian.


Andrew Spittal

Director (Ngāti Koata)

Andrew is a Director and Shareholder in a number of local companies and a national company. Andrew is Ngati Koata’s nominated Board Director and brings a vast range of experience and knowledge of the local civil construction industry that he has been a part of for well over 25 years.


David Wright


David is a company director, management consultant and chief executive. He is currently Chair of Wellington Water Limited and a Director of the Waikato District Council Waters Governance Board, both council controlled organisations providing drinking water, storm water and waste water services. He is a previous acting chief executive of Palmerston North City Council.